Elizabeth Acevedo Becomes the First Writer of Color to Win Carnegie Medal

Nicole Rojas
Jun 23, 2019 - 11:15

Slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo became the first writer of color to win the Carnegie medal. First established in 1936, it is the UK’s oldest book award for children. Past medal honorees include C.S. Lewis, Neil Gaiman, and Sally Gardner. The Dominican American poet won the award for her debut novel The Poet X, which tells the story of a Dominican girl called Xiomara Batista, who joins her school’s slam poetry club in Harlem. Acevedo conceived the novel while teaching eighth-grade English at a school in Maryland.

Login to continue reading.
Dont Have an account? join now
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Leave a Reply

Become a member and join TheNorthStar

Join Over 25, 000 members from all 50 states and 100+ countries to
help build and sustain the most courageous Community of liberation
journalism in the world.

More From The North Star

March on Washington 2020 Live...

March on Washington 2020 Live Blog: Thousands Gather in D.C. to End Police Brutality...Read More

Maria Perez, Nicole Rojas & Micah Schaffer

On the Failed Attempt of the...

On the Failed Attempt of the 1776 Commission Report and the Reaches of Caucacity...Read More

Donney Rose

America is a Young Nation. It...

America is a Young Nation. It Will Likely Not Fully Mature in our Lifetime...Read More

Donney Rose

See more articles from Nicole Rojas

Follow Nicole Rojas to see more of their article on TheNorth