Ava DuVernay’s ‘When They See Us’ Wins Emmy for Casting

Maria Perez
Sep 19, 2019 - 9:00

Filmmaker Ava DuVernay’s four-part Netflix series, “When They See Us,” won its first Emmy for Outstanding Movie/Limited Series Casting. The series, which earned 16 Emmy nominations, recounts the story of the Central Park Five, the five teenage boys who were wrongly accused of sexually assaulting a Central Park jogger in 1989. Kevin Richardson, Antron McCray, Yusef Salaam, Raymond Santana, Jr., and Korey Wise spent years in prison for a crime they did not commit. In 2002, all five men’s charges were vacated after another man confessed to the rape and DNA evidence was found linking him to the...

Login to continue reading.
Dont Have an account? join now
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Leave a Reply

Become a member and join TheNorthStar

Join Over 25, 000 members from all 50 states and 100+ countries to
help build and sustain the most courageous Community of liberation
journalism in the world.

More From The North Star

March on Washington 2020 Live...

March on Washington 2020 Live Blog: Thousands Gather in D.C. to End Police Brutality...Read More

Maria Perez, Nicole Rojas & Micah Schaffer

Black Lives Matter...

Black Lives Matter Demonstrators in Florida Are Being Fined For Using Megaphones...Read More

Maria Perez

Defining Black Gratitude in...

Defining Black Gratitude in the 2020 Holiday Season...Read More

Donney Rose

See more articles from Maria Perez

Follow Maria Perez to see more of their article on TheNorth